[FPSPACE] Another virus attack

DwayneDay zirconic1 at earthlink.net
Thu Nov 4 13:58:55 EST 2004


-----Original Message-----
From: Keith Gottschalk <kgottschalk at uwc.ac.za>

   I did receive 2 emails whose "from" alleged they were from JimO & Dwayne. But when I saw that the email itself was blank, bar a smile icon, plus the attachment, I took it for granted that this was a virus & deleted it without opening the attachment.

*******

I think you are misremembering.  Go here:

http://www.friends-partners.org/pipermail/fpspace/2004-November/date.html

Scroll down.  The two offending messages were from "Joberg" and "Moniya."  The latter is Phil Clark's address, not mine.

I suspect that these virus attack attempts are not conscious attacks by a person, but by some program that has gone searching for e-mail addresses to spoof.  Given the fact that FPSpace often seems to get attacked using old/obsolete addresses, I think that someone somehow lifted addresses from an archive.  If this was a person and they were smart, they would use current e-mail addresses, which would not be so obviously fake.

Good to see that the software stripped out the virus, but the fact that the messages are still getting through inspires caution.


DDAY





More information about the FPSPACE mailing list